2020 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship

Shortlist for 2020 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship

The judging panel for the 2020 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship are pleased to announce the following shortlist from what was an extremely strong field:


Ken Gelder and Rachael Weaver, The Colonial Kangaroo Hunt (Miegunyah Press)


Brigid Magner, Locating Australian Literary Memory (Anthem Press)

Fiona Morrison, Christina Stead and the Matter of America (Sydney University Press)

Emily Potter, Writing Belonging at the Millennium (Intellect)

Paul Sharrad, Thomas Keneally’s Career and the Literary Machine (Anthem Press)

Anthony Uhlmann, J.M. Coetzee: Truth, Meaning, Fiction (Bloomsbury)


Commended: Joseph Cummins, The ‘Imagined Sound’ of Australian Literature and Music (Anthem Press)


2020 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship now open!

The Australian Universities Heads of English (AUHE) is calling for nominations for the AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship, which will be awarded to the best book of literary scholarship published by an Australian-based author between 1 July 2019 and 1 July 2020.

Works eligible for the prize include single-author or co-written monographs, multi-authored books including edited collections, reference works, born-digital works equivalent to printed books, bibliographic works of substance and other forms of equivalent scholarly production. All forms of literary scholarship are acceptable, including critical, theoretical, empirical, historical, textual and so on. Interdisciplinary scholarship is not precluded though a work must engage with what is understood as books and writing in whatever form.

The prize is decided by a panel of members nominated by the AUHE executive. The judges this year are: Ann Vickery, Robert Clarke, and Guy Davidson. The winner will be announced at the time of the AUHE AGM.

Please forward all nominations to the Chair of the judging panel, Ann Vickery. (ann.vickery@deakin.edu.au) by 5pm, 10th July 2020. Deadline extended to 31st July 2020.

Nominators should supply or ensure access to three copies of the nominated text. Either hard or electronic copies are acceptable, with electronic copies preferred. Authors may self-nominate. If nominating a book you have not authored, please contact the author of the text you are nominating to avoid duplicate entries. Publishers may also nominate books. For any queries, please email the Chair of the judging panel.