AUHE Events

AUHE Annual General Meeting

The Australian University Heads of English (AUHE) annual general meeting brings together conveners of English or literary/writing studies from universities across Australia to discuss issues of importance to the discipline, broadly defined. The 2017 AGM will be held on Friday 1st December 2017, 9.00am – 4.30pm.

AGM venue:
University of Adelaide
Napier Building (Lower Ground, Room 24)
259 North Terrace, Adelaide

The AUHE AGM agenda can be viewed here: 2017 AGM Agenda

We look forward to welcoming everyone to another productive meeting for the English discipline.

AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship – Please circulate to your networks 

The Australian Universities Heads of English  (AUHE) is calling for nominations for the inaugural AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship, which will be awarded to the best book of literary scholarship published by an Australian-based author in the last twelve months.Works eligible for the prize include single-author or co-written monographs, multi-authored books including edited collections, reference works, born-digital works equivalent to printed books, bibliographic works of substance and other forms of equivalent scholarly production. All forms of literary scholarship are acceptable, including critical, theoretical, empirical, historical, textual and so on. Interdisciplinary scholarship is not precluded though a work must engage with what is understood as books and writing in whatever form.Nominated books need to have been published between July 2016 and July 2017.The prize is decided by a panel of members nominated by the AUHE executive. The winner will be announced at the time of the AUHE AGM, usually in late November or early December.Please forward all nominations to the Chair of the judging panel, Associate Professor Guy Davidson ( by 5pm, 30 July 2017. Nominators should supply or ensure access to three copies of the nominated text. Either hard or electronic copies are acceptable, with electronic copies preferred. Authors may self-nominate. If nominating a book you have not authored, please contact the author of the text you are nominating to avoid duplicate entries. Publishers may also nominate books.For any queries, please email the Chair of the judging panel

The Literary Interface 2018 Convention

2018 Literary Studies Convention

July 4-7, 2018
Australian National University, CanberraThe Australian National University (ANU) is proud to host the 2018 Literary Studies Convention. The convention will be held on the ANU campus in Canberra between Wednesday, July 4 and Saturday, July 7.

Call for Papers Now Open

Abstract of 150 words and biographical note of 100 words to:

>Download Call for Papers (205KB)

2017 Call for Papers: Literary Environments – Place, Planet and Translation

AAL’s annual conference for 2017, Literary Environments: Place, Planet and Translation, will be held at Griffith University’s Gold Coast campus on the 17th to 19th July, 2017. This year’s conference organisers, Peter Denney and Stuart Cooke, have assembled a stellar line-up of keynotes for the conference:Ursula Heise (UCLA)
Alan Bewell (University of Toronto)
Stephen Muecke (UNSW)
Jerome Rothenberg (UC San Diego)The Call for Papers poster is available to view here.

Reading and Writing in the Twenty-First-Century Literary Studies Classroom: Theory and Practice

6 July 2017

2017 Conference

6-8 July 2017

The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

[Meeting in the METRO WEST Building, on Irving St not Nicholson St in Footscray, walkable from Footscray train station.]


Annual General Meeting 2016

VU Footscray

Venue: Victoria University, METRO WEST Blg, Irving St, Footscray (03) 9919 7043

[walkable from Footscray train station]

Date: Tuesday 6 December Time: 9am – 5.30pm.


Please click here [2016-agm-agenda] to download and print a PDF version of the agenda.

AGM AGENDA – 6 December VU Footscray

9.00am-10.30am AUHE ADMINSTRATION – Chair: Nicole Moore
• Reports from office bearers
o President’s report – Nicole Moore
o VP Finance report – Brigitta Olubas
o VP Outreach report – Leigh Dale
• The view from the states – State Representatives

10.30-11.00am MORNING TEA
11.00am-12.30pm COMMITTEE WORK
• Report from the Learning and Teaching Committee – Chair: Joy Wallace
• Report from the Research Committee – Chair: Helen Groth

12.30pm-1.30pm LUNCH
1.30pm – 3.00pm DISCIPLINARY DEVELOPMENT – Chair: Giselle Bastin
• Talking platform for discussion of secondary/tertiary engagement, with invited speakers.

3.00pm -3.30pm AFTERNOON TEA
3.30pm – 5.15pm ANNUAL PRIORITY SETTINGS – Chair: Brigitta Olubas
• Discussion of Honours and the 3+2+3 postgraduate path (Melb & Macquarie)
• Discussion of new impact and engagement measures of research output
• Open discussion