Voss Prize 2015

2015 Voss Prize

The winner of the 2015 Voss Literary Prize is Elizabeth Harrower  for her novel In Certain Circles (Text Publishing).

Harrower image

The the citation that accompanied the award the judges state: ‘The winner, In Certain Circles by Elizabeth Harrower, has generated enormous interest from readers, not least for its long-delayed publication. Fascinatingly in and out of its own time, the novel presents the fragility and tenuousness of human interconnection as a figure for the postwar world. The judges were compelled by Harrower’s incisive and stately prose and by the novel’s subtle interweaving of perspectives in the drawing of its circles of sociability and seduction.’

The shortlist for the 2015 prize:

Michael Mohammed Ahmad, The Tribe (Giramondo Publishing)
Elizabeth Harrower, In Certain Circles (Text Publishing)
Sophie Laguna, The Eye of the Sheep (Allen & Unwin)
Gerard Murnane, A Million Windows (Giramondo Publishing)
Christos Tsiolkos, Merciless Gods (Allen & Unwin)
Rohan Wilson, To Name Those Lost (Allen & Unwin)