Shortlist announced for 2021 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship

The judging panel for the AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship is delighted to announce the shortlist for 2021. There was a far greater number of nominated books than had been anticipated, and the panel was impressed by the considerable range and quality of the submissions. It has been a privilege to read all of theseContinue reading “Shortlist announced for 2021 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship”

Lecturer – English Literature

Lecturer – English LiteratureThe University of Notre Dame AustraliaPerth – CBD, Inner & Western Suburbs $90,000 – $119,999Full Time Applications close: Wednesday 30 June 2021 For further information, or a confidential discussion about the position, please contact: Dr Leigh Straw | +61 8 9433 0926 | For further information on how to apply contactContinue reading “Lecturer – English Literature”

Updated Registration for Texts and their Limits: Australia’s Triennial Literary Studies Convention

Victoria University (20-24 July 2021) The link for participants to register for the convention has changed. The new registration link is:

Research-Only Continuing Positions In English Literature at Australian Catholic University

Positions are based at the Melbourne campus Seeking further researchers in the discipline of English LiteratureFull time, continuing position (Level C, Level D, and Level E). The Australian Catholic University (ACU) in Melbourne is seeking further researchers (senior, mid and early career) of outstanding achievement in the discipline of English Literature to join its recentlyContinue reading “Research-Only Continuing Positions In English Literature at Australian Catholic University”

The 2020 AUHE Prize in Literary Scholarship Announced

Congratulations to Paul Sharrad, winner of the 2020 AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship for his study Thomas Keneally’s Career and the Literary Machine (Anthem Press). The judges commented: Paul Sharrad’s Thomas Keneally’s Career and the Literary Machine is a highly engaging, deeply researched and richly sourced analysis of Keneally’s multi-faceted career and its shifting receptionContinue reading “The 2020 AUHE Prize in Literary Scholarship Announced”

2019 AUHE Prize in Literary Scholarship Judges Report

Panel: Ann Vickery (Chair), Tom Clark, Ben Etherington Winner Guy Davidson, Categorically Famous: Literary Celebrity and Sexual Liberation in 1960s America In his deep study of the careers and work of James Baldwin, Susan Sontag, and Gore Vidal, Guy Davidson demonstrates how their negotiation of literary celebrity was integrally tied to their sexual identity, somethingContinue reading “2019 AUHE Prize in Literary Scholarship Judges Report”

2018 AUHE Judges Report

Winner: Ben Etherington, Literary Primitivism Literary Primitivism is a highly ambitious and brave work of criticism in which Ben Etherington argues persuasively for a reconceptualization of the project of primitivism and a re-evaluation of its significance. Distinguishing it from modernism and expressionism, Etherington demonstrates how primitivism was historically delineated across both the West and non-WestContinue reading “2018 AUHE Judges Report”

Inaugural AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship Announced

Congratulations to Elizabeth McMahon, winner of the inaugural AUHE prize for literary scholarship for her study Islands, Identity and the Literary Imagination. The award was announced at the AUHE annual meeting on 1 December with congratulations to all of the short-listed authors and excitement about the quality of scholarship exhibited in this new award. The judges’Continue reading “Inaugural AUHE Prize for Literary Scholarship Announced”